Skip to content
  ETA Home   Performance and Administration>    

Wage Record Interchange System 2

The Wage Record Interchange System 2 (WRIS 2) extends the WRIS data sharing model to required American Job Center partner programs not under the jurisdiction of the Department of Labor, as well as programs the Act defines as "additional" partners whose participation in the American Job Center delivery system is appropriate but not mandatory.

WRIS 2 has been established to facilitate the preparation of Aggregate Statistical Reports and analysis to satisfy the reporting and performance requirements for certain Federal or state training and education programs. WRIS 2 allows data for research and evaluation of those programs to be made available while maintaining the confidentiality of personal identifiable information.


What is the difference between WRIS and WRIS2?

  • WRIS is limited to the sharing of records for state and Federal reporting and performance purposes for DOL funded programs. 
  • WRIS 2 allows states to share their wage data in aggregate form with Third Party Entities (TPE). A TPE is defined as any public body, agency, or private career school required by law to meet state and/or Federal performance measures. A PACIA, or its agent or consultant, cannot be designated as a TPE.

WRIS 2 functions in the same manner as WRIS; however, there are a few important differences:

  • There is a separate platform for WRIS 2 to help eliminate any potential confusion.
  • Only states who have signed the WRIS 2 DSA can participate in the sharing of records via the WRIS 2 portal.
  • In order to be a member of WRIS 2, a state must also be a party to WRIS.

There are Forty 40 states, the District of Columbia, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico who have signed the WRIS 2 Data Sharing Agreement and are participating in WRIS 2:

Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, New Jersey, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.


Contact Information
  • WRIS Administration
    Ms. Karen A. Staha, Division Chief,
    Division of Strategic Planning and Performance
    Room: N-5641
    Office of Policy Development and Research

    Heather Parker, Workforce Analyst Division of Strategic
    Planning and Performance

    Employment and Training Administration
    US Department of Labor
    200 Constitution Avenue, NW
    Washington, DC 20210