Skip to content

Advisory Committee on Apprenticeship


The Advisory Committee on Apprenticeship (ACA), which is authorized by Section 2 of the National Apprenticeship Act (29 U.S.C.50), complies with requirement of the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA) (5U.S.C App.1). Selection of committee members is based on the FACA's requirements as well as the National Apprenticeship Act. The FACA requires that committee membership be fairly balanced in terms of the points of view represented and the functions to be performed. Members of specific Committees have both the experience and background that qualify them to represent the program responsibilities of their sponsoring organizations. In balancing Committee memberships, agencies are expected to ensure that major and sometimes strongly opposing view points are represented to provide a foundation for developing advice and recommendations that are fair and comprehensive.

Committee’s Objectives and Scope of Activity:

The ACA is charged with providing advice on how to:

  • develop and promote apprenticeship in all sectors of the economy;
  • safeguard the economic security of apprentices;
  • formulate and promote labor standards for Registered Apprenticeship;
  • identify and select research and demonstration projects;
  • coordinate the various parts of the national Registered Apprenticeship system;
  • expand participation of all segments of the workforce;
  • improve cooperation between education and Registered Apprenticeship;
  • meet future skill needs in expanding areas of the economy; and
  • address broader workforce issues.

ACA is composed of approximately 30 individuals appointed by the Secretary of Labor. The membership includes 10 representatives from each of the following sectors: employers, public and labor. In addition, there is representation of non-voting members on the Committee ex-officio. The Assistant Secretary of Labor for Employment and Training is a member ex-officio. A representative of the U.S. Department of Education and Commerce are also invited to serve as non-voting members in the Committee ex-officio. The Administrator of the Office of Apprenticeship is designated Federal official to the Committee. The Committee does not have alternate members.

The National Association of State and Territorial Apprenticeship Directors and the National Association of Governmental Labor Officials have representation on the public group of the Committee. The Secretary appoints one of the public members as Chairperson of the Committee. The members are appointed by the Secretary of Labor for 1 or 2 year terms.

Under the terms of the National Apprenticeship Act, members of the Committee may not receive compensation for their service. However, members are allowed to receive travel expenses, including per diem in lieu of subsistence, as authorized by law.