May 19, 2005



FROM:          Byron Zuidema
                   BYRON ZUIDEMA
                   Regional Administrator

SUBJECT:    Region 5 Reorganization

1.  Purpose.  To inform State Workforce Agencies of updates to the staffing structure of the Regional Office.

2.  References. None

3.  Links.  This Letter is in the Region 5 website archive at:

4.  Background.  The Employment and Training Administration (ETA) is proceeding with a reorganization of its offices, divisons and units to better serve its customers.

5.  Substance.  Following is the latest update to the Regional Office staffing structure:

Office of the Regional Administrator (ORA)

Byron Zuidema, Regional Administrator, 312.596.5400
Shawaan Caridine, Management Staff Assistant
Janina Rokiciak, Executive Secretary
Sandy Wilson, Executive Assistant

Office of System Performance (OSP)

Nick Lammers, Regional Director, 312.596.5520
Deborah Irby
Eric Hernandez
Deidre Parker
John Scott

Division of Workforce Investment (DWI)

Stacy O’Keefe, Acting Division Chief, 312.596.5527

One-Stop and Business Services Unit (OSBSU)

Shirley Burnett
Jean Grochowski
Lori Harris

Unemployment Insurance and Reemployment Services Unit (UIRSU)

Patricia Hernandez
Ray Koch
Gerardo Lara
John Montague
Linda Mulcahey
Barry O’Connell
Richard Skinner
Robert Sharp
Linda Spitzengel
Steve Weigel
Matthew Withers

Division of State Operations (DSO)

Leslie Matthews, Division Chief, 312.596.5529
Marium Baker
Lynn Bajorek
Cathrine Brooks
Corey Bulluck
Alvin Gordon
Robert Hansen
Linda Ortolano
Jim Sawers
Bob Wilson

Office of Discretionary Programs (ODP)

Larry Greevers, Regional Director, 312.596.5437
Emogene McClure
Ernestine Robles

Division of Discretionary Grants (DDG)

Fred Homan, Division Chief, 312.596.5492

National Emergency Grant Unit (NEGU)

Rochelle Bradley, Supervisor
Darryl Shannon

Specialty Grant Unit (SGU)

Rose Alvarado, Supervisor
Lillian Acosta-Liszt
Pamela Bouallegue
Doris Crawford
Dixie Henderson
Nicole Hrycyk
John MacLennan
Danielle Pleas
Lance Potts
James Pouliot
Clay Webb
Rebekah Woolley

Office of System Support (OSS)

Barry Dale, Regional Director, 312.596.5455
Theresa Marquis

Division of Internal Support (DIS)

Michael Dooman
Joan Steffek

Division of Financial and Performance Management (DFPM)

Tom Coyne, Division Chief, 312.596.5435

Financial Grant Management Unit (FGU)

Beverly Akogu
Thomas DiLisio
Deborah Galloway
Jim Kinney
Tom Ouyang
Dennis Swafford
Nancy Williams

Performance/Reporting Unit (PRU)

Willie Lyles
Cheryl Svee

6.   Action Required.   State Administrators are requested to share this Letter with appropriate staff and other agencies. 

7.   Inquiries.  Questions or comments concerning the Region 5 reorganization may be directed to Nick Lammers of the Office of System Performance on 312.596.5520; Larry Greevers of the Office of Discretionary Programs on 312.596.5437; or Barry Dale of the Office of System Support on 312.596.5455. Questions or comments about the format of this Letter may be directed to Tom Coyne on 312.596.5435.

8. Attachments. None.

9. Effective Date. April 1, 2005

10.  Expiration Date.  September 30, 2005

Top of Page