Skip to content

Advisories (TEGLs, TENs, UIPLs)

Grant Investment Summaries / Grant Opportunities

Performance and Reporting

State and Local Workforce Activities

(July 16, 2012)
EDA Awards Grants to Assist Southern Universities in Strengthening Regional Economic Ecosystems

The Economic Development Administration recently announced a $1.2 million in grants-in-aid to universities in eight states as part of the University Center Economic Development Program, a partnership to leverage university assets to promote American innovation and strengthen regional economic ecosystems.

The grants, which will give each institution $129,000, include:

  • Auburn University, Auburn, Alabama
  • University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida
  • Georgia Tech Research Corporation, Atlanta, Georgia
  • University of Kentucky Research Foundation, Lexington, Kentucky
  • Mississippi State University, Starkville, Mississippi
  • University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, North Carolina
  • Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, North Carolina
  • Western Carolina University, Cullowhee, North Carolina
  • University of South Carolina, Columbia, South Carolina
  • University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Tennessee

News Release / Individual University Emphasis