Skip to content

Advisories (TEGLs, TENs, UIPLs)

Grant Investment Summaries / Grant Opportunities

Performance and Reporting

Topics Of Interest

   Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun | Jul | Aug | Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec


(Nov 28 2012)   EDA Outlines Funding Cycle Deadlines for FY 2013 and FY 2014 Economic Development Assistance Programs 
(Nov 21 2012)   ETA Seeks Comments on Extension of Occupational Code Assignment Form 
(Nov 5 2012)   SSTI Announces 'Excellence in Technology-Based Economic Development Awards'; UEDA Honors Universities Engaged in Innovation, Entrepreneurship, and Talent Development 




EDA Outlines Funding Cycle Deadlines for FY 2013 and FY 2014 Economic Development Assistance Programs

The Economic Development Agency (EDA) provides strategic investments that foster job creation and attract private investment to support development in economically distressed areas of the United States., EDA solicits applications from both rural and urban areas to provide investments that support construction, non-construction, technical assistance, and revolving loan fund projects under EDA's Public Works and Economic Adjustment Assistance programs. Grants made under these programs are designed to leverage existing regional assets to support the implementation of economic development strategies that advance new ideas and creative approaches to advance economic prosperity in distressed communities.

The Economic Development Administration has published on the deadlines for the remaining funding cycles of FY 2013 and the first funding cycle of FY 2014.

The next four funding cycle deadlines are:

  • December 13, 2012 for funding cycle 2 of FY 2013
  • March 13, 2013 for funding cycle 3 of FY 2013
  • June 13, 2013 for funding cycle 4 of FY 2013
  • September 13, 2013 for funding cycle 1 of FY 2014



ETA Seeks Comments on Extension of Occupational Code Assignment Form

The Occupational Code Assignment form (ETA 741) was developed as a public service to the users of the Occupational Information Network (O*NET), in an effort to help them in obtaining occupational codes and titles for jobs that they are unable to locate in O*NET. The O*NET system classifies nearly all jobs in the United States economy. However, new specialties are constantly evolving and emerging. The use of the OCA is voluntary and is provided: (1) as a uniform format to the public and private sector to submit information in order to receive assistance in identifying an occupational code, (2) to provide input to a database of alternative (lay) titles to facilitate searches for occupational information in the O*NET Web sites including O*NET OnLine (, My Next Move ( and My Next Move for Veterans ( O*NET Code Connector (, as well as America's Career InfoNet (, and (3) to assist the O*NET system in identifying potential occupations that may need to be included in future O*NET data collection efforts.

The OCA process is designed to help the occupational information user relate an occupational specialty or a job title to an occupational code and title within the framework of the Standard Occupational Classification (SOC) based O*NET system. The O*NET-SOC system consists of a database that organizes the work done by individuals into approximately 1,000 occupational categories. In addition, O*NET occupation have associated data on the importance and level of a range of occupational characteristics and requirements, including Knowledge, Skills, Abilities, Tasks and Work Activities. Since the O*NET-SOC system is based on the 2010 SOC system, identifying an O*NET-SOC code and title also facilitates linkage to national, state, and local occupational employment and wage estimates.

The Employment and Training Administration is currently seeking comments on the extension of this form. Click here for full background and instructions for comment submission. Comments are due by January 22, 2013.


SSTI Announces 'Excellence in Technology-Based Economic Development Awards'; UEDA Honors Universities Engaged in Innovation, Entrepreneurship, and Talent Development

The State Science & Technology Institute (SSTI) announced its Excellence in Technology-Based Economic Development Awards in October 2012. The six winners serve as national models for states and regions investing in science, technology and innovation to grow their economies and create high-paying jobs. Among the winners, a newer program was selected as the Most Promising TBED Initiative, recognized for a transferable technology commercialization model and a creative funding approach.

The five categories:

  • Building Entrepreneurial Capacity
  • Improving Competitiveness of Existing Industries
  • Increasing Access to Capital
  • Expanding the Research Capacity
  • Commercializing Research
  • Most Promising TBED Initiative

Additional Background / Listing of Winners by Category


The University Economic Development Association (UEDA) also announced in October its Awards of Excellence winners during the Annual Summit in Chattanooga, Tennessee. The Awards of Excellence Program recognizes UEDA members who are transforming their campuses into engines of economic prosperity through leading edge initiatives in five categories:

  • Innovation and Entrepreneurship: initiatives designed to support startups, high- growth companies and clusters within a region;
  • Talent Development: initiatives that promote the development of 21st-century skills;
  • Research and Analysis: initiatives that enhance the capacity of colleges and universities to provide new forms of research and tools for community, economic and workforce development practitioners;
  • Community Connected Campus: initiatives that promote the physical development of quality connected campuses and their surrounding communities; and,
  • Leadership and Collaboration: initiatives that support the development of collaborative economic development strategies and the leaders required to implement them.

Additional Background / Listing of Winners by Category