There have been reports of phone calls made from a Department of Labor phone number (202-693-2700) soliciting personal information and/or promising funds to those receiving the calls. These calls were not authorized by the Department of Labor. ETA and the Department of Labor do not and will not solicit Personally Identifiable Information, such as your Social Security number, or other personal information, over the phone. If you receive a call like this from a number that looks like an ETA phone number, consider it a spam call, hang up, and report the call to the US Department of Labor at 1-855-522-6748.

For more information about how to recognize spam calls, please reference the IRS site about recognizing these imposter calls: https://www.irs.gov/newsroom/how-to-know-its-really-the-irs-calling-or-knocking-on-your-door-0

Skip to content
  ETA Home   Workforce Professionals>    

What's New in Workforce Investment?

Workforce Investment News Archive

Applications for Investing in Manufacturing Communities Partnership Due March 14; EDA and IEDC to Provide Additional Guidance in February 19 Webinar
Feb 14, 2014
In December 2013, the Obama Administration launched a national competition to designate up to 12 communities as “manufacturing communities” in the U.S. The Investing in Manufacturing Communities Partnership (IMCP) will help accelerate the resurgence of manufacturing in regions across the country. The IMCP will reward communities that best highlight their strengths and demonstrate they can combine their efforts around workforce training, infrastructure, and research centers to implement an economic development plan that will attract, retain and expand manufacturing investment.

The designation as a manufacturing community offers preferential consideration for up to $1.3 billion in federal dollars and assistance from 10 federal agencies. To determine which communities will be selected, EDA issued a notice in The Federal Register announcing a competition.

IMCP, a collaborative effort among 13 federal agencies, is led by the Department of Commerce and is an important part of the Department’s Open for Business agenda which prioritizes trade and foreign direct investment, two top drivers of manufacturing industries.

The deadline to apply to be designated as a manufacturing community is March 14, 2014. The Economic Development Administration and International Economic Development Council are offering a free webinar on Wednesday, February 19th at 2:00pm EST to provide additional information and guidance as the deadline approaches.

Attend this free webinar to:

  • Get an overview of the IMCP program
  • Receive updates about the application process
  • Ask questions about IMCP and the application process
Webinar Registration

Agencies Participating in IMCP:

  • Dept. of Agriculture
  • Dept. of Commerce, Economic Development Administration
  • Dept. of Commerce, NIST/MEP
  • Dept. of Defence
  • Dept. of Education
  • Dept. of Energy
  • Dept. of Housing and Urban Development
  • Dept. of Labor, Employment and Training Administration
  • Dept. of Transportation
  • Appalachian Regional Commission
  • Delta Regional Authority
  • Environmental Protection Agency
  • National Science Foundation
  • Small Business Administration