Skip to content

Advisories (TEGLs, TENs, UIPLs)

Grant Investment Summaries / Grant Opportunities

Performance and Reporting

What's New in Workforce Investment Archive: Headlines (2001)

2014 2010 2008 2005 2003 2002 2001 2000 1999 1998

New Round Opened for Empowerment Zone Designation
Aug 2, 2001
The Community Renewal Tax Relief Act of 2000 authorizes the designation of nine Round III Empowerment Zones (EZs). Seven of the Round III EZs are to be designated in urban areas by the Secretary of HUD. The remaining two Round III EZs are to be designated in rural areas by the Secretary of Agriculture. In the July 19 FEDERAL REGISTER, HUD invited applications for designation of nominated areas as EZ's. Unlike the differences in Round I and Round II, the eligibility and selection criteria for the Round III EZs are the same as the criteria that applied to the Round II EZs. Completed applications must be submitted no later than September 28, 2001. Other background on Empowerment Zones can be found at and