Skip to content

Advisories (TEGLs, TENs, UIPLs)

Grant Investment Summaries / Grant Opportunities

Performance and Reporting

What's New in Workforce Investment Archive: Headlines (1999)

2014 2010 2008 2005 2003 2002 2001 2000 1999 1998

Nine Early Implementing States Begin WIA Transition on July 1, 1999
Jul 14, 1999
Posted 7/14/99 The Department of Labor authorized nine States to begin implementing their State Title I Workforce Investment Act and Wagner-Peyser Act Plans on July 1, 1999. Letters containing guidance on how States could move forward were sent to the nine States on June 30th, giving them the green light to transition to the Workforce Investment Act (WIA), consistent with the time lines set forth in their Plan. The nine States include: Vermont, New Jersey, Kentucky, Florida, Wisconsin, Indiana, Texas, Louisiana and Utah.